Creepy Crawly Menopause

Standard

I live in a really old house (180 years).  My house has lovely features such as heart pine floors, enough fireplaces for Santa and his cousins, and a brass doorbell that kids love to twist.

But we have a feature I would happily give up:  BUGS.

Since we don’t use pesticides, on any given day you might encounter a spider, a beetle, moths (the evil wool-destroying kind), a nation of ants, a camel cricket, a feisty kitchen fly, and for an otherworldly experience, weird little guys (and girls) that look like tiny gray-brown lobsters.

I’m talking bugs for a reason.  I’m gearing up to tell you about my strangest menopause symptom ever.

I had bugs crawling up my arms.  Not real ones.  Invisible ones. Tiny tingles that felt like hundreds of little critters. You can see why, living in this house, that I thought they might be real.  They weren’t.

So fess up!  What is/was your craziest menopause symptom?  And for you younger readers, do share with us your weirdest hormonal moment.

The imaginary bugs lasted a day and then went away.  Good riddance!

The real bugs are still here.

Photo:  These sprightly ladybugs won’t crawl up my arm, but they cheer me up every time I look at them.  They’re the creation of Emily and Casey Lewis of Beachwood Metalworks:  http://www.beechwoodmetalworks.com/

22 responses »

  1. Ugh that would have driven me crazy. This blog is such a good idea – the only symptom I’ve ever heard of is hot flushes. Bound to be reassuring for others experiencing the same thing.

  2. Hi Barbara, I too have had the creepy crawly feeling in my legs and it drives me crazy.Luckily it doesn’t happen very often.I look forward to reading more entries on the blog.

  3. Oh gosh. NOT looking forward to that one. But…I’m sure the day is coming when someone notices a hair I missed on my last tweez of my upper lip, as a bug. Did I just confess to this?! My kids would be horrified!

  4. I am glad to find your blog Barbara! I have been a reader of Kath’s blog for 2 years now. She was the inspiration for me to start eating a whole foods diet. I am also going through menopause. It is nice to read someone else’s experiences because sometimes I am quite sure I must be losing my mind!

    • Thank you! I just had lunch with Kath (We’re visitng my mom) and she wasn’t very happy that I ate Cheetos. They came free with the lunc in Mom’s cafeteria.

      Your mind sounds just fine to me, esp. if you’re a fan of sweet Kath!

  5. Hello :) Hmmm, my wierd hormonal moments…this might not be hormonal or wierd, but it’s got more to do with menstruation. There was a period of time when I didn’t get periods for about a year, but when I started medication, I started getting them in full flow, just like that!!! I remember how happy I was go get my period, while most girls my age (I’m 19) would be happy not to get one.

    • Yep, that’s grass is always greener! Thanks for sharing. Love your gravitar! And so pleased to have some younger readers like you.

  6. I can’t tell you how thankful I am to find your blog. I read your daughter’s blog, and just love it. Kath is about 10-11 years younger, though. I recently started menopausal symptoms (about a year ago), which took me by surprise; I didn’t expect it this early! My only real symptoms are longer, heavier periods, but even that has caused some trouble. :)

    Anyway, my mom is no longer living, my sister had a hysterectomy, and none of my friends are experiencing these kinds of symptoms yet. This has caused me to feel sort of isolated! There’s no one to share these experiences with except for my husband-lol.

    It’s comforting to read your posts, to learn what might happen next, but more importantly to just relax and take a deep breath! Thanks again, I’m so happy you’ve started this blog!

  7. Barbara,
    Your arms tingled feeling like creepy crawlies running up your arm. Every time I going to have a hot flash, Iknow ahead of time because my feet tingle. It almost feels like I’m walking on pins and needles without the sharp pain. I try to rub them hoping I can avoid the hot flash. I haven’t had much luck with that.

    • Karoline, Wow, so there must really be a connection between the tingles and the hormones. Thanks for you comment and thanks for subscribing!

  8. You know, I have always wondered if those symptoms go away or if we just get used to them. I am coming up on 70 and for reasons that no one can explain I still will have hot flashes. We now have a pet fly that follows us from room to room. But honestly I did not know this bug crawling thing even existed until I read it here. I know when I was teaching the mention of “head lice” would bring on a fit of head scratching. But not on my arms at all. Do you suppose my mind will be letting those show up at this late state? Sigh!

    b

    http://www.retireinstyleblog.com

    • Nope. I think you escaped the bug menopause syndrome! But interesting about the hot flashes. I’ve heard that’s not uncommon.

  9. Yikes, where to begin? I’m only 38, but just found out my estrogen is at rock bottom – the likely culprit is “pituitary failure”, but the end result is the same….early menopause. It SUCKS! I’m exhausted, irritable, feel a disconcerting mixture of hopelessness, depression, doom and overall lack of interest in life, and am now adding hot flashes to the mix. I just don’t know what to do with myself most days – I’m either crying or snapping at everyone around me. I have an 8 year old, so finding time/ways to be kind to myself is tough. I seriously feel like I’m losing my mind some days, and hate to think how all this is affecting my family. It’s hard not to feel sorry for myself sometimes….I wasn’t supposed to be dealing with all this so soon.

    • I’m so sorry you are going through this. Stick with the blog and maybe I can offer a few words of encouragement (and maybe a bit of humor.) Thanks for reading.

      • No maybe about the humor… I think you just can’t help it… the humor shines through… which is W O N D E R F U L. That is just what everyone needs to do is smile and laugh more.

  10. Pingback: Puzzled: Putting the Menopausal Pegs Together « Friend For The Ride

Comment on this post

