My Hundredth Post! Queen for a Day

Standard

In honor of my hundredth post, I am crowning each and every one of you Queen for a Day!  Thank you so much for reading Friend for the Ride.

Thank you for your comments.

Thank you for your guest posts.

Thank you for reading even if you are as silent  as a guard at Buckingham Palace.

Do you remember the old TV show, Queen for a  Day?  I used to watch it with my great-aunt, who was nuts over it.

I  keep thinking I’m going to pick some ordinary day and pronounce myself queen, not in a bossy way, but in an I have permission to just goof and not feel guilty way.

The older I am, the more I feel pulled between getting things accomplished and easygoing fun. They say this is a classic problem among women–that we are slow to pamper ourselves and when we do, we feel guilty. Perhaps men actually feel the same way.

Holidays are meant to encourage us to relax, but between the planning and executing of holiday festivities, relaxation often flies out the palace windows.

What about you?  Are you getting better at indulging your Inner Queen as you grow older?

Here’s a hundred royal wishes that we truly learn to spoil ourselves before we’re a hundred!

Photos at the top and bottom: It’s fun to look through this old booklet and see the pictures of a very young queen taken on Elizabeth’s Coronation Day, June 2, 1953.  Photos in the middle are from Queen for a Day.

15 responses »

  1. Congrats! I wasn’t sure how to celebrate a blog anniversary- by number of posts or months- so opted for the “year” of blogging. Happy Mother’s Day too, soon to be a grandma!!

  2. Yep, I think I am getting better at being a Queen for a Day! I didn’t think of it in those terms – that’s clever! I find it a much needed mental refresher to get away from daily duties and give myself at least a partial day off. I’ll head to the mall or discount store for a little retail therapy. A new top and a lunch out usually makes me a very happy camper by the time I get home and pick up the vacuum, trowel, or sponge again. Then the drudge, drudge, drudge, Queen process begins again.

  3. Congratulations! This is an incredible blog and you deserve a Royal Coronation to celebrate your 100th, and every day from here on out.

    I learned a long time ago that no one was going to pamper me or give me the time I needed to pamper myself. Therefore, I learned to take the time, by force if necessary. ;)

    My biggest pamper is expensive luxurious skin care products and facials. I go without food and clothing for this one luxury. Honestly!

    With Mother’s Day coming up, I know what I’ll be doing – scheduling my facial. I used to feel guilty about such luxuries, but at my age now, no way. Some women splurge on expensive wine or chocolates… I buy cheap wine and skip the chocolate all for a day at the spa. To each her own!

    Happy Mother’s Day and congratulations, Barbara!

  4. Yes, Patti! What a fun idea! I agree….Barbara should have a coronation!! We could all dress in our dream queen outfits of our choosing, make our own fascinators, and have a glorious meal of tea, chocolates, cake, wine for those that drink…..and all things delicious! Barbara will sit at the head of the table and …..we won’t gain a pound of course.
    On a more serious note…..Thanks so much for your blog, Barbara. It has become a part of my daily life.
    Happy Mother’s day to all!

  5. Thanks everybody for the sweet wishes. And Patti and Judy, I would enjoy being queen for maybe a month or so, but not sure the rest of the Younger crew would go along with it.

Comment on this post

