It’s Okay, Ovaries

Standard

I could feel an ovary trying to decide what to do.  One hour, I sensed the familiar and oh so annoying twinges that meant ovulation was on its way (followed by two weeks of PMS in her various forms). The next hour, all was quiet as if they were finished.  So one day, I decided to start talking to my ovaries.  Yep, talk to them.  I think impending menopause was confusing them as much as it was confusing me.

“Thank you,” I told them.  “The babies were darling.”

“Thank you,” I said a little later, “but now you can rest.”

They needed to understand that their work was done.

My older friends kept telling me that once you get through it, menopause is great. No more PMS.  No more periods.  And so I decided to egg on (pun somewhat intended) the providers of the eggs.  I wanted them to know they didn’t need to keep producing the little buggers.

And I wanted them to know I am grateful.

I’m grateful for the memories of those babies and for the years of their growing up, but mostly, I’m grateful for right now.  Adult kids are cool.  Life in your fifties is too.  Ovaries that are going zonky are not.

They finally got the message to quiet down.  Every now and then, I still talk to them to say, again, “Thank you.”

The egg cups are from my husband Cliff’s childhood.  His mom, Vivian Younger, served him soft-boiled eggs in them.  Hooray for eggs (of all kinds) and hooray for mothers!

32 responses »

  1. because we are good friends you have told me this story before and i often think of it on my roller coaster ride. not only is it a good refection but also a semi humorous but sweet way of coping. i am so looking forward to your blog and to all the future comments, stories and support. here we go…….!!!!

  2. Thank you for great memories! Your egg cups reminded me of my grandmother and when she served me soft boiled eggs in very similar style. And I enjoy your blog a bunch!

  3. I need to have a little talk with my ovaries. I like you perspective. Look forward to reading your post. Such a positive outlook. So much is written about the negative aspects of menopause. I too like the place that I am now, grown kids, settled in my marriage, and career. So what if my body Is a little mixed up at times.

  4. Good idea to thank your ovaries and eggs. They have produced us some great kids to be thankful for! It is amazing really if you think about how those fertilized eggs can turn into babies.

  5. Barbara, you’re hilarious. Of course you would speak to your ovaries. Maybe if the older women in my former book group had talked about speaking to their ovaries when the monthly book group discussion morphed into a discussion of menopause, I wouldn’t have ditched them. But frankly, I got tired of all the menopause talk because I couldn’t relate–yet.

  6. Barbara, I can remember some of the menopause talks we had and I’m so glad you’re putting this out there. There is so much that needs to be demystified. And I love the idea that you are taking charge!

  7. barbara….forgot to mention that i LOVE the background of your blog. it is so cheerful and upbeat!! does your talented daughter, laura, get credit for that??

  8. Terrific site Barb Younger! And your last name is particularly appropriate – after menopause I feel like I’m getting younger, not older – and no more worrying about reproducing and surprise monthly visits!

  9. As much as I dread “that time” each month, there’s a part of me that also dreads when it no longer happens. It’s such a huge symbol of being a woman, being young…well, maybe not so young anymore! On second thought, bring on the menopause!

    • It’s such a mix of feelings, but definitely some sadness to it (but it sure is nice not having to worry about things like having your period on a beach trip.) Thanks for reading!

  10. This is the correct blog for anyone who wants to search out out about this topic. You realize a lot its virtually hard to argue with you (not that I truly would want?HaHa). You undoubtedly put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just nice!

  11. Pingback: Celebrating Two Years (and a Canvas Print Giveaway) | Friend For The Ride

Comment on this post

