Cravings! Ha!

Standard

Disclaimer:  Before you read this, I must tell you that in all my years of PMS and through The Big Change, I never, I mean NEVER, conquered cravings.  So this post is just to say they are real.

We can each make our own list.  This is mine:

  • Chocolate:  I know it’s out of vogue, but I adore milk, not dark, chocolate
  • Icing:  From the pink roses on a birthday cake to the white circle inside an Oreo
  • Potato Chips:  All varieties, but my top choice for a hormone balm is salt and vinegar
  • Marshmallow Peeps:  I like to eat a row, if not a pack, at once.  So Long Peeps!
  • French Fries:  With salt.  With ketchup.  With vinegar.  With a combination of the three.

When I was in the maelstrom of menopausal cravings, I once ate an entire Christmas gift basket in three days, some of it in the middle of the night.  A huge and very fancy gift basket that I should have shared with holiday revelers.

There are lots of tips out there for beating cravings. Give them a try, although they didn’t work for me.  The good news is once your hormones calm down, the intense cravings abate.  Then you just have regular old cravings.  Bon appétit!

Photo:  This tin doesn’t hold potato chips anymore, but if it did, I would eat them slowly, just a few a day.  Ha!

25 responses »

  1. i say ….let’s celebrate cravings!!! hurrah to milk and dark chocolate, hurrah to cookies, hurrah to cake and icing, hurrah to chips….and i will also give a hurrah to peeps even though i can’t eat them (all yours barbara!). and i really celebrate when i crave healthy apples!

  2. Oh wow, this post was a delight to read, very funny. I, too, have suffered from intense cravings as a result of PMS. Our lists are almost identical! -I’d take a gummy bear over a peep though.

  3. I used to have cravings for chocolate, but now I don’t have cravings for it anymore because I keep some on me at all times and eat a little of it everyday. And I just became addicted to a new chocolate bar by Ritter Sports that is dark chocolate with whole hazelnuts in it–lots of them!! Absolutely delicious!! Occassionally I do have cravings for a McDonald’s coke. And for me there is no other coke but McDonald’s!

  4. I am so glad you decided to do this! I have been reading Kath’s blog for quite a while and have always enjoyed your stories about the bears.I am kinda between your season of life and Kath’s (raising teenagers and enjoying everything perimenopause has to offer ) but so admire the job you’ve done in raising beautiful, capable daughters. I hope this blog proves to be a wonderful creative outlet for you and that it is successful in every way that is important to you. I am looking forward to it!

    • Thank you so much! Enjoy your kids. Even those teenage years become (mostly) really fond memories. When they’re gone it’s a big of a shock, although empty nest is way cool in many ways too.

  5. I love that you are doing this blog! I have read KERF from the beginning and so adore your daughter. I’m 50 with 4 grown kids and I’m right there with ya, sista! You’re a doll and I am excited to now follow your blog!

  6. I had to laugh when I saw your potato chip container! My maiden name is Becker, but I don’t think I had anyone in the chip business. But how awesome would that be? Unlimited supply of snacks. On second thought, maybe not!

    • Well, you might be used to all those delicious snacks if you had them in the family and how fun to have a supply of those wonderful tins. They made pretzels too!

      • I remember potato chips and pretzels being delivered to my neighbor weekly in a big tin (different brand in my area) Charles Chips. They were good and a nice treat. To this day, I love all kinds of cool tins.

  7. Cravings! Ah, yes, my main weakness has been Chocolate!! I’m sorry that “they” say that dark chocolate is good for you b/c, for me, there is ONLY milk chocolate. Full calorie, as silky & milky as possible, and room temperature or higher. Melt in your mouth goodness! Pardon me while I nip out to the nearest chocolate shop……

  8. Wow this is a great blog. I’ve been reading KERF for a year or so but secretly felt “too old” for it. You have provided a perfect blog for me to read. I’ve been tampon free for about 2 years and am just realizing the liberating aspects of this phase of life .

    • Well the really crazy ones I had went away–stuff like eating most of a bag of chips in kind of frantic mode, but I just ate a cupcake with butter cream frosting and am having a hard time resisting another….

  9. Hi Barb!

    I’ve been an avid reader of Kath’s blog since the beginning, so I feel like we’re already friends by association. First, let me say that I bow to you for having raised such a terrific – good-hearted, high-spirited, talented – daughter. I am so very fond of Kath.

    Already, I find myself connecting to your writing voice and thrilled you will be addressing issues that are suddenly starting to creep into my life in my late 40’s. You write beautifully. I am excited to go along on this journey with you and become better acquainted with yet another member of the Younger family.

    All the best with this new venture, Barb!

    • Karen,

      Thank you so much! I’m here with Kath right now visiting my mom in Baltimore. I will pass on your good words.

Comment on this post

