Menopause: The Fork!

Standard

Whoa!

Those are some pretty serious words from menopause guru Christiane Northrup.

Die.

Grow.

Let’s choose GROW!

Not like our waistlines  or our to-do-lists.

But our minds.

Our souls.

Our sense of self.

Our generous spirits.

Our creative actions.

Our whimsical and comfortable confidence.

When my daughter Laura was baptized, my mom took a picture with a flash.

I knew our pastor HATED cameras in church.

From my place at the baptismal font, I gave Mom the look, a real glower.

Twenty-seven years ago, when I fussed at her after church, she declared, “I’m the grandmother. I can do things like that.”

Now I’m a grandmother, admiring my mother’s spunk.

In menopause, one way I hope to grow, is to NOT be afraid of the glower,of getting, every now and then, the look.

What about you?  What are your growing plans?

Graphic:  Thanks for the graphic goes to Vibrant Nation, an engaging and fun site for women over 50.  They’re kind enough to feature some of my blog posts. Check out Vibrant Nation HERE.

7 responses »

  1. I think age gives us license to do things we might not have done when younger. Why not? Life is short. My kids are worried about my parents coming to the haircutting ceremony. I’m sure all will be fine. I am trying to only commit to things that I really care about and not get over committed to activities that don’t interest me. My younger self says to do it all; my older self says pick and choose.

  2. To try and explore and check off things on the list. To not let hectic schedules dominate, responsibilities take over, and obligations intrude. A challenge indeed. We can all support each other!

  3. Oh wow, that flash photo story in church made me smile. I’m sure I would have given my mom a real glower, too. And now, I understand your mom’s feelings. I seem to pull out my OLD PERSON license more and more. For instance, I take bottles of water into auditoriums… “No food or drink allowed.” I scoff. Do they really want an old lady to pass out because she’s dehydrated? I don’t think so.

    If a rule makes sense to me (no pictures in theatre productions) I can follow it just fine. But, now that I’m old, I can distinguish which rules are good and just and proper, and which ones are just so much hooey. Thanks for sharing this, Barbara. It was great fun, and oh so true!

  4. I think I never fully understood that poem about growing old and “wearing purple” until now. Heck, if we can’t do it now, when can we do it? : )

Comment on this post

