A TMI Post: Leg Hair–Score One for Menopause!

Standard

When the weather turns cold, I wear more pants than skirts.  But about a month ago,  I selected a dress from my closet. Gee, I thought, if I’m wearing a dress, I should shave my legs.

I HATE shaving my legs.

I probably thought it was fun in seventh grade, when my mother said, “Okay.”

But for the last forty plus years, it hasn’t been high on my list of thrilling activities.

Not to mention the danger!  Razor too fast over shin or ankle. Yikes!  Bleeding for an eternity.

Anyway, before I put on the dress, I trudged into the bathroom and picked up the razor.

No hair.

Yes, for real.

Well a hair here and there, but not many.

Then I remembered reading that in menopause, the hair on your legs can stop growing.

Incredible.

A perk!

Web searches didn’t reveal much info, but women on some of the forums reported the same happy situation.

After a few weeks, some hair appeared worth shaving off, but all in all, the need to shave legs seems to be slowing down.

SCORE ONE FOR MENOPAUSE!

Anybody else have a similar story to tell?

Photo: If this is a TMI post, this sculpture is a major TMI piece of art. It’s the work of George Segal, done in 1963, and appropriately titled Woman Shaving Her Leg.

I found the photo here.  Read about artist about the artist here. You can read specifics on Woman Shaving Her Leg here.  

28 responses »

  1. I get lazier in the winter too but summer.. well I’m too vain I guess– get the top half waxed and shave from the knee down. Haven’t noticed any slowing of growth, but I’m blonde so maybe that helps.

  2. Yep, I’ve noticed the same thing. I still remember asking my mom if I could borrow her electric razor while staying overnight with her about 20 years ago. She said she didn’t have one b/c she didn’t need it anymore; she no longer had hair on her legs that needed shaving. I was stunned! And, yes, now it’s happened to me. A little shaving her & there but mostly it’s gone. Amazing since I had major hairy legs in my teens! haha That’s menopause – you did one thing right!

  3. I shaved my legs before I went on a vacation in October. I haven’t touched a razor since. Granted, I’m wearing long pants right now, but still…

    Okay, so the answer is “Yes.” After menopause, I don’t see as much leg (or underarm) hair. I used to shave my underarms every morning in the shower. Now it’s like “nah.” Don’t need to. My hair (on my head) is rather fine, so I thought that was part of the hairless nature of my legs. Now I realize there was a change after The Pause. Right now, if I want to remove the scattered hairs on my legs, I could probably take a luffah and just rub them off.

    TMI? Need To Know! Thanks for sharing, Barbara!

  4. Very little hair left on my legs or my underarms! Yeah! Unfortunately I do have to watch for those chin hairs and pluck them out. But way easier than shaving my legs and cutting myself.

  5. I had heard about this when talking among friends, and, because I’m a pant wearer, except in swimsuit season, I had to go check – True – I just had never noticed. Most definitely a score for menopause.

  6. I can report the same hardly any leg hair (pluck the odd ones out)or underarm hair, but little chin hairs!!

  7. Pingback: On Shaving My Legs

  8. I have never seen or heard this discussion before and was getting concerned about my lack of leg hair and underarm hair. Whew! I feel better! Having gone from abundant dark, very hairy to no hair at all is quite the surprise to me. Yes, I too have new chin and mustache hair, mostly white now. Has anyone else noticed the accompanying lack of eyelashes? Now those I miss!

    • Gosh you’re right. I got something in my eye the other day and the instructions I found online said to pull down on your upper lid. I had very few eyelashes to grab onto. Yikes! I hadn’t noticed it so much when putting on mascara.

    • Came upon this post quite by accident…I was ready to make an MD appointment fearing it was upcoming CANCER or some other reason the ‘ol leg (and scalp) hair had been diminishing! …and the EYELASHES too! I am ashamed to admit I didn’t put 2 and 2 together about the menopause business (I’m 61) Put slap-to-forehead picture here. Maybe I’ve found yet another web side to bookmark. Thanks ladies!

  9. Pingback: Confession: I Hate Shaving My Legs

  10. I have just this minute discovered/realised I have no Leg Hair and on reading some of these comments I have found I have no underarm hair either!!! Thank you Ladies for letting me know I am not strange at all, as my Husband so politely put it!!

    • What’s odd is after I wrote the post, my hair began to grow back a bit (It’s like I jinxed myself), but now it’s back to being present, but slower and less noticeable than when I was a younger woman. You’re lucky if you have none! Thanks for joining the discussion!

Comment on this post

