Wedding Update: Speed Childhood

Standard

Laura One

Laura Two

Laura Three

Laura Four

Laura Five

Laura Six

Laura Seven

Laura Eight

Laura Nine

Laura Ten

Laura Eleven

Laura Twelve

Laura Twelve

Laura Fourteen

Laura Fifteen

Laura Sixteen

Laura Seventeen

Laura Eighteen

Laura Nineteen

Laura and Dad

Laura Twenty-one

Laura Twenty-Five

Laura Twenty-four

Rehearsal dinner slide show in the works! Laura’s childhood photos were my job.

When you’re a mom, some of those days are long, but the years sure are short, as Gretchen Rubin of The Happiness Project reminds us in her quick but insightful video.

I only wish I’d understood it then.

Now I tell every young mother to relax and enjoy.

They’re probably not finding my advice that relaxing, but I can’t help it.

The years really are short.

16 responses »

  1. So nice to see your collection of pictures. I’m sure a few tears were shed as you gathered them together.

    My daughter Nicole has said that saying for some years now… “The days are long, but the years are short.” She especially liked to share it with her friends who were new parents and having trouble with those long days. Of course, we grandparents get the double whammy – watching kids grow up, and then watching their kids grow up. It really drives the message home, hard. But, it’s a wonderful message and one I wouldn’t miss for the world. You, too, I bet. 😉

    Thanks for sharing your journey, Barbara. It’s always good to see how you’re doing.

  2. Love the photos. I will probably be going through mine soon. I just had my first Mother’s Day without my daughter and she will turn 20 this summer and it will be the first birthday I have not spent with her. (She is in Australia for the summer.) I knew this day would come, but it doesn’t make it any easier. Can you believe you will have 2 married daughters soon?

    • Yep. Two married girls after all those years of playing dress ups.

      How wonderful (but far away, I know) for your daughter to get to spend the summer in Australia. My niece lives there and loves it. I hope your daughter has a fabulous experience!

  3. Thank you for the reminder. Don’t try to escape every tedious thing, it is us that makes them tedious. Live for today, for tomorrow they are grown and gone.

Comment on this post

