I Feel Bad About My Neck: A Brief Tribute to Nora Ephron

Standard

Nora Ephron

I’ve been a Nora Ephron fan ever since I read Heartburn twenty plus years ago.

Imagine a novelist  pausing her storytelling to plop down a recipe!

That never happened in the novels I read for English class. Sure would have livened up  pasty old Billy Budd. 

I love Nora’s films too. My daughter Kath of Katheats.com, was one of the first food diary bloggers. The family watched Nora’s last film, Julie and Julia, with enthusiasm.

Lately, I’ve been studying Nora’s writing, especially her use of detail, recall, wit, and what reviewer Lisel Schillinger describes as “hard and funny truths.”  Plenty of lessons for this blogger.

Nora warns us, “Anything you think is wrong with your body at age thirty-five you will be nostalgic for at the age of forty-five.”

Sigh.  She’s right.

As I rode in the back seat the other day, the rear view mirror called out to me:  OLD NECK. I SEE LINES AND FOLDS. HA! GOTCHA.

But Nora spotted her old neck first and was clever enough to slap it on a book cover:

Nora

Great book!

The book won’t fix out necks though.

But misery loves Nora Ephron company.

Thanks, Nora. You showed us how to age with spunk. We miss you!

And here’s the scene from Heartburn. Watch Meryl cram that delicious key lime pie into Jack’s  face. Take that, you cheater!

Nora’s obituary in the Washington Post  is here.

Find some of Nora’s recipes, including the notorious key lime pie, here.

The top photo is from the Washington Post obit.

Gratitude Prayers:  Congratulations to Silvia, who won the copy of June Cotner’s Gratitude Prayers.

19 responses »

  1. What a loss. She died the same day as my father in New York. Wondering what hospital. Loved watching the clip of Heartburn. What a great movie. And looking forward to reading this book. Thanks for this post, Barbara!

  2. Can’t believe I haven’t read any of her books. Never saw Heartburn either. Thanks for adding those to my “to do” list. : )

  3. I agree. I love Nora Ephron – her wit and wisdom is so real. So true about the things we hate that we will eventually be nostalgic for. I can’t believe how fat I thought I was at the ripe old age of 35. (However, that had more to do with a bad husband at the time. But that’s another story.)

    My sister and I have this to say about our aging skin/body: When you look in the mirror today, enjoy. It’s the best you’ll ever look. That little tidbit of elder wisdom keeps us grateful, and humble. 😉

    Thank you, Barbara, for posting the movie clip, too. Your entire post was a lovely tribute to a remarkable woman.

  4. I loved ready this book when it came out in 2008, but I really appreciate this and her book from
    2011, I REMEMBER NOTHING more now! thanks for reminding us about this amazing writer.

Comment on this post

