Road Trip: Post #3– Serendipity!

Standard

20130827_124132

Remember The Serendipity Singers? That’s when I first learned the word, and I’ve loved it ever since.

Road trips, in their best moments, often whisper or shout serendipity.

In Chattanooga, I opened my email to find a note from my agent. She was pleased with the revision I sent her of my Jersey Shore novel.

Yes!

The novel features an eleven-year-old kid who fights to keep the frog figure on an antique carousel.

An hour later, Cliff raised his head from a travel brochure:  “There’s an old carousel here. We’ll go!”

We crossed the Walnut Street Pedestrian Bridge that spans the Tennessee River:

3340477468_a18ef09a69_b

and walked to Coolige Park.

The Herschell-Spillman Company is the only carousel manufacturer to put a frog on their machines.

This was a Dentzel Carousel. I didn’t expect to see a frog.

20130827_124528

But then I spotted him.

Serendipity waiting for me with a froggy grin.

Choosing which carousel figure to ride is always a tricky decision.

Cliff  considered the elephant and the tiger but decided on the camel.

Easy decision for me this time!

I put my hand on the frog’s head when the ride ended.  “I’m hoping you’re a good omen.  A sign for my book.”

The frog didn’t answer.

He just kept grinning.

20130827_124132

What about you?

Has any serendipity come whirling your way lately?

The Serendipity Singers, who formed an American folk group of the 1960s, are best know for their first hit, “Don’t Let the Rain come Down/The Crooked Little Man.”

serendipity singers

15 responses »

  1. So cool! Love the song. Hmmm my serendipity is that I am 30 min from OC, MD and might get to see my favorite carousel today. (We’re here with family and loaned our car to them so are dependent on others for transportation today. But anyway – I might have to make this a priority!)

    • My childhood carousel, and I love those little boats, too! Please take a picture of the frog for me if he’s there. (Should be–I’m just not sure.) Sadly, the town Jumper is loosely based on, Cliff’s childhood beach town, had a horrific fire last night. Shocking after they just finished rebuilding it from Sandy.

      But have a great trip!

  2. Wonderful serendipitous moment! I, too, love serendipity. As a matter of fact, the Serendipity book series was the first set of books my daughter and I read together. I know she still has them.

    Congrats on your new book! Can’t wait to hear more. Very exciting. And, yes, Carousel Froggy was definitely a good sign!

  3. Serendipity that came whirling my way lately – Last Fall I spent a few hours in Santa Fe and instantly knew I just had to return some day. This year my alma mater is sponsoring a long weekend in … Santa Fe! I signed up and later read an article about an exhibit of Georgia O’Keeffe’s works painted at beautiful Lake George in New York State. I haven’t been to Lake George in over 50 years so was unlikely to return in time to see the exhibit nearby, but …the exhibit is moving to Santa Fe just in time for me to see it there!
    Serendipity within serendipity!

Comment on this post

