Guppies? Menopause? Yes!

Standard

Guppy Female_1

Wikipedia has a lot to say about menopause. Check out the article here.

Of all the menopausal tidbits, the one that splashed me right in the face is this:

GUPPIES GO THROUGH MENOPAUSE!!

And I quote:

“Menopause also has been reported in a variety of other vertebrate species including elephants,[129] short-finned pilot whales[130] and other cetaceans,[131][132] the guppy,[133] the platyfish, the budgerigar, the laboratory rat and mouse, and the opossum.”

Bless their tiny guppy hearts.

I had to find out more.

Guppyblog.com to the rescue!

In this post, “Do Guppies Go Through Menopause?” the blogger writes that his/her guppies definitely live another year or so after they stop reproducing.  (This fact has only been verified for guppies living in fish tanks.)

Now take in THIS tidbit, oh Friend for the Ride readers:

Menopausal guppies are bigger than guppies who are still reproducing.

HOWEVER…

Guppies in menopause grow longer  NOT fatter.  Their bellies stay the same size.

I’ve thought it might be nice to be a flying fish. Perhaps a stunning rainbow fish.

But I’ve never once wanted to be a guppy.

Now I’m considering choosing guppy for a next life.

Imagine gaining height in menopause (instead of shrinking) while maintaining one’s midsection.

I don’t know though.

We had guppies when I was little. I won a single guppy for coming in second in the Bible Verse Memory Contest. (I got beat out by the pastor’s son.)

That night, my guppy had babies. “Kids, I’m a grandmother!” my mom called upstairs.

Those guppies produced many generations. From my human eyes, life in the guppy tank didn’t hold many thrills.

We finally gave our guppies away when our newest cat couldn’t keep his paws out of the fish tank.

I think I’ll pass on the guppy life.

Guppy Female_1

But as a member of the Universal Sisterhood, I salute you, Guppy Girls!

Enjoy that fish food!

18 responses »

  1. Who would have thought, Guppies and menopause!
    I read about a gorilla at the Chicago zoo and her keeper and they were both menopausal. I emailed the zoo keeper and she was understanding like any ‘Friend of the Ride’.

  2. What a fun blog post. I always learn something new in your posts. I always wanted to come back as a dolphin; wonder if they go through menopause, too?

  3. And are these “Grumpy, Gutsy, Guilty Guppies” as well? I loved this post! But I also think I’ll pass on the guppy life, right along with ya. After all, there are still other fish in the sea, aren’t there??

  4. Barbara – I’m rejoicing that I found you! LOVE your blog! I am a newborn blogger writing about perimenopause and I was starting to feel so alone in a sea of baby mom sites. I will be back to read more!

Comment on this post

