Downsizing: Tea Cups and a Green Tea Giveaway

Standard

Mom and Dad

Tea cups!

Who doesn’t love a pretty tea cup?

The tea cup above served mostly coffee, to my mom and dad. I can look at those roses and be ten again.

Grandma

And this is my grandmother’s Lenox, the Ming pattern.

Auntie

Here’s the gold-rimmed china that graced my great-aunt’s Thanksgiving table. My aunt had no children, so her china came to me.

Wedding

And finally, our wedding china.

An abundance of tea cups. Sadly, rarely used.

I prefer to drink my tea from a mug. And when we have company, I often send the wine bottle around another time instead of hopping up to make coffee or tea.

So a quandary. What to do with so many tea cups?

Giving them away or selling them yanks mightily at my heart. My daughters,  at least right now, are politely saying, “No thanks.”

This is a downsizing project I’m putting off for a while.

What about you?

Are you blessed/cursed with an abundance of tea cups?

Times have really changed tea cup-wise.

Hey! Here’s a happy change.  Tea in funky forms.

Organic Matcha Green Tea Powder is offering Friend for the Ride a giveaway. Talk about a fun product! You can even use the tea to flavor frosting, hence the intriguing green color.

Now that’s my cup of tea!

matcha-cupcakes

 The recipe guide, available here, lists dozens of dishes. I made the salmon below. Yum!

Salmon

Read more about Organic Matcha Green Tea powder here.

Giveaway!  For a chance to win your own package  (valued at $25), leave a comment by May 20. The company will ship to the U.S. and Canada.

Matcha

Blender

52 responses »

  1. Oh goodness yes! I have tea cups & saucers coming out my ears. My mother-in-law used to collect them as a hobby and they came to us when she died. I doubt my husband will part with them without a fight. Sigh! Another downsizing roadblock.

  2. Tea cups take up a lot of room. I sold a bunch of mine to a friend who has an annual formal tea party. I haven’t used a tea cup in decades, but have the same nostalgic pull to a few of them; really hard to give up. But I don’t think you want to wrap all those tea cups up and move them.

  3. I have been downsizing also..I got rid of a lot of teapots..they were for decoration..I do love to drink tea.

  4. Beautiful china patterns. My mother loves pretty tea cups. She has too many to count. Pains me to see her drink from the nonbreakables in her care center. I am a tea drinker, but I grab what’s first in the cabinet–I don’t think I have a favorite cup.

  5. Those are beautiful–I can see why you don’t want to part with them. I love tea, but even though I know how good green tea is for me, I don’t like the taste. Didn’t know there was powder I could “hide” in recipes! Consider me entered for the drawing. 🙂

  6. Two things:

    1) I am a green tea fanatic. I steep plain green tea, put it in the refrigerator, and have a refreshing cold drink available always. I don’t need sugar or lemon or anything. I prefer the slightly tart taste of green tea pure and simple. And… this is what got me off the Diet Coke habit. So, that’s good.
    2) I, too, recently had to, and still have to, downsize. I use one rule of thumb: if it makes me go “awww” and feel all happy and warm inside, I keep it. If it doesn’t, it goes. For instance (and stop me if I’ve told you this), I had three sets of stainless mixing bowls. They were all very nice, but only one set made me happy, so the other two sets were given away. And really, how much am I really going to mix, right?

    So, yes, I would LOVE to win the organic green tea. I know I would drink it and cook with it and enjoy it a great deal. And, yes, downsizing is difficult, especially if you don’t have someone to take it and cherish it like you do. (I am in the same boat with that one.) Good luck and thanks for sharing your pictures and memories. 😉

    • Patti, I must try your green iced tea. Still struggling with what to drink that’s not high in calorie and contains no caffeine.

      I like your Ahhh rule, but I say ahhh to all the tea cups (which have more china to go along with them). I’m going to need to get tough some day.

      • If you could do it with books I’ll bet you can do it with teacups!

  7. Hi Barbara,

    I can relate to this post 100%. My husband and I have recently retired and moved into a new home (still unpacking).Downsizing is a big part of life now. We love this house but it is much smaller than our family home where we raised the children. I am finding I have emotional attachments to so many things, and it can be difficult to let go.Your teacups are beautiful, it is a hard decision. I have kept only a few cherished ones.
    Both my daughter and I enjoy green tea but usually grab a mug, the days of ladies sipping from teacups seem to be fading away. Last summer she and I visited a hotel that serves high tea in beautiful china, with finger sandwiches and delicate desserts. It was a dress and hat occassion, very much from the days of old. It will be a great memory!
    Like all things it is time to move forward so I’d love to try the green tea powder and experience cooking/baking with it.
    Thanks Barbara!

    • Congrats on your move! We’re doing big contemplating over here, and we do love the idea of a new house (sad as it will be to leave the old one). I’m really having a pretty good time with the downsizing project. It’s been interesting to work through the emotions. Not there with the tea cups yet though.

      Your tea sound lovely. I adore finger sandwiches!

  8. I don’t have an abundance of tea cups…but a set of china that was my mother in law’s that I never use. Such a great post since I do love the IDEA of tea cups. Hope yours find a happy home. Count me in on your giveaway!

  9. What beautiful tea cups! Canadian and English relatives would always bring an English bone china cup and saucer. The Canadians serve with odd tea cups! Smart. I would bring my mother a bone china cup when ever we visited Canada. I’ve also used my assortment of bone china cups for guests, but my entertaining style has changed. Now it’s whatever the children grab out of the cupboard. I’ve kept the cups and saucers that were gifts to me but, divided those that I inherited from Marty’s and my parents among my children. Talk about changing tastes and style of serving.
    Do you know anyone who would like eleven Checkoslavakian, crystal, stem cordials with platnum trim?

    P.S. That salmon looks devine. What time is dinner?

  10. Lovely post. Yes, I have a few of my grandmothers’ tea cups that also gather dust and are never used. I hardly every serve tea! Styles are different and most new brides like your daughters want modern things that can go in the dishwasher. Would love to try the green tea mix- and please share that salmon recipe- looks superb!

  11. My mother started me collecting teacups and I still enjoy adding to my collection. I once hosted a “tea,” where no one wanted tea. (Me: Would you like some tea? Guests: No, thanks! Do you have any Diet Coke?) My less formal middle -aged self would now serve that soda in a teacup! Here are some suggestions for using teacups:
    http://www.brit.co/our-cup-of-tea-9-ways-to-use-vintage-teacups/
    Here is a way to serve wine in modified teacups:
    http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-diy-teacup-wineglasses-86135

  12. Such lovely tea cups! These days we favor coffee “bowls” at our house. The delicate Wedgwood Wild Strawberry patterned tea cups usually stay in the China cabinet …but they are so pretty, just looking at them makes me happy.

  13. Beautiful tea cups! The matcha powder would make some yummy smoothies for sure. And I would definitely have to make those cupcakes!

  14. Beautiful teacups! You know, when I was in my twenties i didn’t like certain things my parents had. I was another person back then. Now a couple of decades later I have grown to appreciate these items in a different way.
    Please sign me up for green tea giveaway!

  15. One of the things I admire about one of my aunts is that she finds occasions to use the pretty dishes that for most of us would just get dusty on a shelf. Not every day, but for company or special meals that they’ve put a lot of effort into (and they’re good cooks, so that happens at least once a week).

    My sister-in-law got a couple of family heirloom teacups put into shadow boxes to hang on the wall because she knew she’d never use them for tea.

  16. All of the tea cups are beautiful. I also have several different sets that I am unable to part with. I think they would be beautiful at a brunch. That could be an idea, host a brunch or gathering and the guest can take home the teacup that they used.

  17. Pingback: Motherhood and Regret: A Play Dough Tale (and Recipe!) | Friend For The Ride

  18. My mother in law gave one to each grandchild. They adorn bookshelves and dressers to hold jewelry etc.
    Would LOVE to win the matcha green tea!! I am a big tea drinker. But sadly, i also like mugs.

  19. I too have too many and my daughter isn’t interested at this time either (in her 20’s) but, we have saved the most sentimental dishes/tea cups so that my daughter and my son will can have them should they change their minds later. Some are just packed away and some are still handy but, may get packed away soon. We don’t drink from the cups either….use our favorite coffee mugs instead!

    • I wonder when mugs came into vogue?

      We went to a charity auction last night and a lot of the older/antique items people donated did not go. Kind of sad! But I get why folks like modern and newly created items too.

Comment on this post

