Just Over Yonder: A Poem for Menopause and Other Times Too

Standard

Just Over Yonder

As I went through The Great Pause, I kept asking older women about it.

“Menopause? That was ages ago! I’ve forgotten,” they’d reply cheerfully.

Their responses were happy but not helpful.

But…

Their forgetfulness inspired me to start this blog, so I could encourage others.

Yes, menopause, among other maladies, can bring on gloom and self-doubt.

But raise a glass to the tincture of time!

Sometimes, it takes patience. Ya just gotta wait.

A new you is sprouting!

Sprouts

I wrote this poem for my friend June Cotner. June, who’s the editor  of thirty anthologies and counting, sends out a call for submissions and that gets the words spinning. “Just Over Yonder” will appear in BACK TO JOY: Little Reminders to Help Us Through Tough Times  (October, 2014 by Andrews McMeel Publishing). Pre-orders of Back to Joy are available now.

Capture

13 responses »

  1. This is one area where my senior moments come in handy! Menopause? Yes, it happened & I’m glad it’s over but how difficult was it? Well……can’t really remember.

  2. Your poem so reminds me of a time in my life (perimenopause and into menopause) when I was trying to expand, and at that time there was a song played over and over, “Fields of Gold,” — love lyrics really, but because they were being played on the radio when I was trying to grow and expand, for me it got associated with the idea of “new horizons!” Well, those “new horizons” didn’t happen for me at that time, in that place. I identify with your beautiful conceptualization of “green shoots” sprouting! Wherever we are in menopause, perhaps there are, like you said those “green shoots” sprouting. May they continue to sprout!

  3. Nicely done poem and also the sentiments DO apply to other life situations, absolutely. Anyone remember the excruciating pain of childbirth. Me neither. I did it six times. lol. Time can heal. Memories fade. And that allows us to renew zeal and make the trade!

  4. Your “tincture of time” does help and shows how people seemed to “forget” hard times, or wanted to move beyond them simply through the “magic” of the passage of time.

    What helps even more is to actually know and remember, along with to acknowledge and resolve the feelings around events that have happened.

    As you had so aptly wrote in your “About the Blog and Me”, “”…it seemed that the women, usually happily ensconced in the next phase of life, couldn’t remember the specifics of menopause. I wanted details. I wanted to know what they thought and felt, physically and emotionally, during those days. I wanted to know about them, so I could figure out about me.”

    It is so important that “we remember” — In so doing, we can not only help ourselves to grow, but help others through the knowledge that we have gained about ourselves.

    Thank you, Barbara, for a blog that might help us to remember and, in turn, to help others!

    • It was amazing to me how many women couldn’t remember menopause (or to be accurate, the menopausal process). And when I told friends about the blog, lots said, “Oh I’m finished with that.” For me it’s been such a journey I don’t really want to be finished, or not finished in every sense of the word. Thanks for your thoughts! Fun to reflect.

Comment on this post

