Fearless Women Writing! A Book Giveaway

Standard

 

FWFW-cover-small-2

 

A guest post by writer and teacher Susan Gabriel:

I have never thought of myself as a particularly courageous person, but over the last few years –having dealt with hot flashes, heart palpitations and sleep deprivation, among other things – I’ve realized how brave I actually am.

It’s no small feat to get through major hormonal shifts. Yet, I’ve survived other tough things in my life, and I’ll get through this.

Still, despite all the courage we women have to claim to get around in this world, our fears abound.

I was reminded of this when I started teaching my Fearless Writing for Women workshops. In these workshops, which are held my home and run for six weeks, writers are given writing prompts, writing tips, and LOTS or encouragement to tell their stories.

My students – women who are mostly in their 40’s, 50’s and 60’s –  have amazing experiences to share and yet they also have nagging and sometimes paralyzing self-doubt that what they have to say doesn’t matter, has no value, or isn’t good enough.

What I tell these women is that we can’t afford to have this attitude.

We have to voice our fears in safe places like my workshops or other groups of women, but then we have to move forward anyway.

Because the world needs women’s stories!

Stories where ordinary, resilient women overcome adversity and have courage to claim their more authentic selves.

Stories about us.

To put it in perspective, it’s only been in the last hundred years that women’s stories have been published. Before that we basically had a handful of well-known authors like Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters, as well as the ever notable Anonymous.

The world desperately needs women to write their stories and give other women (and men) the road maps for finding their way home.

With this in mind, I wrote a book called Fearless Writing for Women that gives extreme encouragement and inspiration using quotes, short essays by me and stories of creative women like Anne Lamott, Tina Fey, Annie Dillard, Virginia Woolf, Harriet Tubman, Ursula Le Guin, Barbara Kingsolver, Kathryn Hackett, Hillary Clinton, Alice Munro, Jane Austen, Maya Angelou, and others.

Please get whatever support you need – classes, workshops, a writing coach, whatever – to start or continue writing. We need your stories.

P.S. A BIG thank you to Barbara who is generously giving away a free paperback of Fearless Writing for Women.

Autographed paperbacks are also available through my website: www.susangabriel.com. EBook versions of all my books (fiction and nonfiction) can be found on Kindle, ibooks, nook, Kobo and Google Play, as well as in paperback everywhere. The Fearless Writing for Women audio book will be released this fall on Audible.

Giveaway: For a chance to win Susan’s book, Fearless Writing for Women, please leave a comment by August 31 saying  you’d like to be the winner.

More about Susan Gabriel:  Over a decade ago, Susan gave up her successful psychotherapy practice in Charleston, South Carolina to simplify her life and pursue writing. She writes with passion, humor and insight about Southerners, as well as a wide variety of other ordinary, odd and interesting characters, young and old. She lives with her family in the mountains of western North Carolina.

Susan Gabriel

 

22 responses »

  1. I love the idea of writing and reading stories to give women and mean “a road map” to find their way home. We learn so much from each other and we each have a story (or many!) to tell. I’d love to win your book.

  2. Yeah for women’s stories! This book sounds fantastic-but don’t enter me in the giveaway. I’m in the “simplify my life” mode that Susan was in 10 years ago–which includes winnowing down the number of books I own. But I love the idea behind this!

  3. Women’s stories are my inspiration! Here’s to encouraging more to be written! (I am a devoted fan of Alice Munro, by the way.)
    Janet

  4. Hi everyone! A BIG THANK YOU to Barbara for running my post today and for offering a free book to a lucky winner as a giveaway. It’s wonderful to be here.

    I am a huge believer in the power of women’s stories. If you’ve read Barbara’s posts about surviving cancer, you know what I mean. She is very brave to share her story with us, and in doing so she helps us all be braver and more empowered.

    We all have stories to tell. Even if you aren’t a writer, the stories and quotes in the Fearless Writing for Women book, will help you be a more fearless woman in other aspects of your life.

    Love to all of you, and to Barbara: rock on! 🙂 We appreciate your bravery. xo

    P.S. Please consider heading over to my website and signing up for my newsletter or subscribing to my blog. I’d love to be in touch with you!

    http://www.susangabriel.com

  5. I would like to be a winner. My daughter is very interested in creative writing. She wants to minor in this for college.

  6. Please enter me to win – I am very interested in journalling, maybe I can expand my writing with help from Susan’s book 🙂

  7. Hi everyone! I LOVE all this interest in my book. THANK YOU!

    If you don’t want to wait until August 31st to see who wins the paperback, Fearless Writing for Women is also available on Kindle for $3.99, as well as on nook, kobo, and google play. It’s not free, but it’s still a steal! I’m positive that one nugget of inspiration from the book will be worth it to you 😉

    I also have copies on my website that I can autograph to the aspiring writer of your choice.

    Buying books supports independent authors, like me, so we can keep writing those stories that the world needs.

    Thank you for your patience during this brief commercial message on behalf of authors everywhere. xo

  8. Yes, I would love to win a copy of this book. I am a seriously STUCK writer. Okay, the brave thing I did just there was I actually called myself a “writer.” Now I’m shaking in my boots! How DARE I call myself a writer, says the voice in my head. I’m not worthy! I do believe I need this book… 😉 Thank you, Barbara, for introducing me to this author. HUGS! You are the best.

  9. I would love to read & win Fearless Writing for Women as I am in the process of completing my 1st book for women stepping into the next season with ageless vibrancy. I have invited women to share their story of how they are embracing vibrant living and am featuring all of these stories on my blog and a few excerpts from each will also be included in the book. Your inspiration post here gives me the courage to get past self-doubt and get my book completed. Thank you!

Comment on this post

