2015! Resolutions? Still Pondering!

Standard

I’m nuts over New Year’s resolutions! Love to ponder and finally zero in on one.

However, I’ve been making them for forty-plus years and have only kept two:

  • When I was in my mid-forties, I had several book deadlines in the same year. I vowed to work harder in the evenings, and I did.
  • About five years ago, I set out to keep the rocker in our bedroom clear of my clothes. I would hang those suckers up! I kept this beautifully until January of the next year came around and all diligence vanished.

For 2015, I’m pondering these:

  • To be self-indulgent while practicing self-discipline. (That seems like an intriguing challenge.)
  • To be as chill as a bottle of bubbly on New Year’s Eve. (That’s a happy, laid back, friendly sort of chill.)

The best resolutions, like the two I kept above, are very specific, which my new ones aren’t, so I’m thinking about these:

  • Join a Zumba class
  • Get back to revising my middle grade novel

What about you? Have you ever kept a resolution? Are you making any for 2015?

Twenty Fifteen

Here’s to all of you and here’s to the promise of a brand new Year! Welcome 2015!

27 responses »

  1. Hi Barbara, Happy New Year – I hope your resolutions go well!

    As for me – Try to exercise more regularly (I find it harder to get motivated to do it in the winter!) and (like you) not to get too stressed over things I can’t control.
    Hopefully 2015 will be my first period free year since puberty, but if it turns out not to be (went 8 months without one until October this year), then so be it!

  2. I like real achievable resolutions like you did with the clothes. I thought of one but of course forgot it because I didn’t write it down so that is my resolution, write everything, thoughts, lists, etc. down!

  3. Happy New Year, Barbara! And yes, get back to your novel! Still pondering resolutions . . . but I like yours. Maybe I’ll steal. 🙂

  4. I’m renewing my resolutions from the past two years, which are health-related and a continued work in progress. It’s hard to change lifelong habits! The first is to drink more water, especially to drink from the water fountain at work every time I pass it. The second is to stand (and sit) up straight, in order to look and feel more confident, but also to avoid the “hunchback” effect of aging.

  5. To finally get a decent photo of my finished painting “M Zone” to you Barbara… and to get some poems or articles submitted to publications this year, and…you get the idea ;). Thanks for the comradey and kind words. May this be our best year ever. *God Bless*

  6. Make resolutions, not me. Why shoul 2015 be any different from other years, in that respect any way. Have to admit though. There are times when i was aske to maake a resoltion and wished i did.

  7. I don’t make resolutions but I just wanted to say you should definitely try the Zumba class! I love it! It’s a great way to just let go and have fun. Let us know if you try it!

Comment on this post

