My Theater Debut: Stage Lessons

Standard

 

Cast of the Dixie Swim Club

Rehearsals of The Dixie Swim Club are in full swing! Since I first landed the part, I’m having a blast and have learned lots about life on stage from Lisa, our director and Debbie, our stage manager.

  • Don’t turn your back to the audience.
  • Don’t stroll or meander across the stage. Every move is deliberate.
  • Don’t block another actor.
  • Don’t cover your face.

I realized these lessons can apply to life off stage, too.

  • Don’t hide yourself away.
  • Live with intention.
  • Value others.
  • Practice boldness.

Script

I’m working hard at memorizing my lines. Starting January 5, we may NOT bring our scripts to rehearsal. It’s been a great exercise for this menopausal brain.

And I’m doing my best to inhabit my character, to become Jeri Neal McFeeley, ex-nun. Now out of the convent, she makes some bold choices.

In one scene, Jeri Neal models a low-cut, short, pink dress. Her friends declare the dress much too young for her, announcing that Jeri Neal looks like “a hooker with a handbag.” (She carries a designer purse).

I sure hope I can become as bold as Jeri Neal.

Because if I step on stage in that short pink dress and freak, I’m NOT allowed to turn my back.

Top Photo: The cast of the Dixie Swim Club right before we climbed into our decorated truck for the Hillsborough Christmas Parade.

Dixie Swim Club

15 responses »

  1. Good for you– you’re going to have a blast. I’ve thought about auditioning for local theater but can’t make that time commitment– can’t wait to hear your stories. You learn a lot seeing theater from the inside!

  2. Gawd girl I wish I could see this!! Embrace your thighs, your short pink dress will look marvelous, and so will you! And something I learned on stage, if you have fun so will the audience, Bravo!!

  3. I love the sentiment of being “deliberate” and “living with intention”!! How very exciting to be in this play! When is the debut of this theatre’s production?

    Maybe that will be my New Year’s Resolution — “live with intention!!”

    I will, of course, adhere to the theatre’s tradition of saying “break a leg”!! Maybe you can post some of the highlights of the play for us!! That would be great!!

Comment on this post

