My Theater Debut: Costumes!

Standard

Preg Pillow The play is gearing up! Twelve days until opening night. I’ve enjoyed every minute. And since I love clothes, I’ve had a great time with my costumes.

Our director Lisa has a keen eye. She found the eighties-style maternity dress (above) at a local thrift shop. It’s been fun to be pregnant again with the help of the pillow.

In the final scene, I’m seventy-seven years old. Artistic and spunky, my character, Jeri Neal McFeeley, keeps up her sense of style. I went to My Secret Closet, a consignment shop, to find her a jacket to wear. My Secret Closet

I came home with a jacket and  a necklace to match!

Necklace I also picked up a bracelet for Scene Three, when Jeri Neal, newly married, sports a black and white top with a black miniskirt. At the start of the scene, she flirts with her husband on the phone. “You sound like a mother speaking to a child,” Lisa said. “You need a sexier voice.”

That evening I practiced on Cliff. “Is this real or the play?” he asked.

Bracelets

In the last few weeks, I’ve had trouble deciding, too, when I’m Jeri Neal and when I’m my regular self. I’ll miss her terribly when the show is over.

But that’s a problem for later. Right now, back to the script for more studying! I’m still messing up some lines. While I study, I might just sport the frog slippers that Jeri Neal wears with her pink polka dot bathrobe (peeking out from beneath the maternity dress at the top).

Frog Slippers

For anyone local, here’s the link to Orange Community Players with info on how to buy tickets. I’d love to see you at the show!

7 responses »

    • How nervous were you on opening night? Any tips? I’m already getting nervous, and it’s two weeks away. I’ve done a ton of public speaking and never have much trouble with nerves, but this is much scarier.

  1. You are doing an awesome job!!! I have really enjoyed working with you and hope you will be involved with OCP on a regular basis!!!

    • Debbie, Thank you so much. I am so happy to get to know you and work with you. You’re doing an awesome job too!

      Love the play. I’d turn around and start another one if I could (although maybe I should wait until after the show to say that!) See you tonight!

Comment on this post

