Experience 2015: Corn Snake!

Standard

Snake in HandOkay, granted he is a small snake.

Granted he was handed to me by a trained naturalist.

Granted I knew he wouldn’t bite

But…

I still, for the first time in my life, held a snake!

His name is Ricky. (Lucy escaped, never to be found again.)

He’s a corn snake, and he lives in the enviromental building at the Bald Head Island Conservancy.

Here are my three thoughts on holding the snake:

  • This item is now off my bucket list. Although if holding a snake is on my bucket list, it makes me wonder if my bucket list needs revising.
  • I like that I stepped up, and in an instant, gathered the courage to do something that’s scary to me. Hope I can do more scary things.
  • Ricky didn’t feel like I expected he would. There was not a hint of slime, and he seemed solid, as if he were happy and confident in his own snake self.

I don’t think I’d be brave enough to reach my hand into Ricky’s cage and pick him up myself. The road to snake handler, for me, would be a long, terrifying one. But I’m now, for the first time in my life, thinking sweet, fond thoughts about a snake. Thanks, Ricky! (And thanks to Emily, our excellent tour guide).

What about you? Is snake handling on your bucket list or are you already a pro?


Snake
Want to learn more about corn snakes? Sure you do! Here’s some info from the National Zoo.

Check out this theory on why many humans fear snakes.

16 responses »

  1. Not in my bucket list but being braver is! Thanks for a reminder that bravery at this time of our lives is an important goal

  2. Go, Barbara! Funny but true about possibly revising your bucket list; maybe we should all look at ours every once in a while to see if it needs tweaking.

  3. Hiya Barbara!!! (I’m playing catch-up on my blog reading, lol). I first saw this pic on KERF!!! Good for you. I first held a snake about 12 years ago at an exhibition at the local science center. My daughters were both too scared to even touch it. It was a coral snake and so beautiful. My grandson had a ball python last year, but it got sick and died. I absolutely LOVE snakes. Thanks for posting the great pic. Have a great weekend!!! Blessed be, hugs!!! Pam
    pamspretties57 at gmail dot com

Comment on this post

