The Ladies Room Door Art Series: Part Fifteen

Standard

20150731_191139

On our summer trip to Carolina Beach, Cliff spotted The Fat Pelican while on a walk through town. He brought me back that night. Turns out the Fat Pelican made this distinguished list of the 32 Diviest Dive Bars in the America. Check out the funky ladies room door above. And look at the cute man below. The men’s room was occupied, and I convinced him that he should use the ladies.

“After you,” he said.

“Oh no,” I responded. “You go ahead. I’m just taking photos of the door.”

I explained about the Ladies Room Door Art Series, and he said, “How about taking my picture with the door?”

So I did. Thanks cute man at Carolina Beach.

20150731_191225

Here’s the back of the door.20150731_202019 (1)

And a shot of the inside decor. What a ladies room! Makes me wonder what Lady Violet on Downtown Abbey would think.

20150731_202008

Here’s the door at the Sea Witch Cafe, a Carolina Beach tiki bar.

20150731_182836 (1)

And a pleasant wooden sign at Shelby Jeans on the Boardwalk.

20150731_204314

Blog reader Barb sent the door below. She writes, “I was recently with my three sisters, and we ate at the Cafe Bavaria in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin. Saw this adorable door and remembered your series.”

IMG_2345

From reader Stephanie comers the ladies room door at the Coast Guard Station in Georgetown, South Carolina.

0714151251a

And Carol, of The Potty Trip of Potty Trips fame, sent these signs from the Seabreeze Recreation Center, The Villages, Florida.

admin-ajax
FullSizeRender (1)

Back in North Carolina, Carol met this Egyptian-looking lady at the Mellow Mushroom in Wrightsville Beach.

FullSizeRender (5)

Reader Judy spotted this sign on Menemesha Beach on Martha’s Vineyard.

FullSizeRender (4)

Then Judy found these:

FullSizeRender (2)

FullSizeRender (3)

And finally, Cliff’s friend Joe, who loves what I’ll call “Boy Humor,” sent this to Cliff by email. I have no idea where, but this sign hangs over a urinal at a golf club.

Urinal

So that’s our latest. Thanks to all of you for sending doors my way and to the men who helped with this post: Cliff, who discovered the dive bar; the cute guy who used the ladies room there; and Joe, whom I suspect would find me more bathroom humor if I egged him on.

10 responses »

  1. Traveling has an added benefit now … I get to be on the lookout for new and different bathroom doors! Enjoyed the photos.

  2. I’m surprised that you didn’t stumble across any “WC” while you were in Europe. WC is Water Closet or restroom (generic phrase) because both men & women use the same stall.

Comment on this post

