Looking Forward to Menopause? Yes! Here’s Why…

Standard

Witch Hexing

Happy Halloween! Hope it’s pleasantly scary and filled with candy that suits your every sweet tooth.

Candy corn

This witch made the mistake of not looking forward. She was hexing while flying!

But speaking of looking forward, I love this list on Everyday Health of eleven reasons to look forward to menopause. Check them out here.

The article outlines the physical advantages of menopause such as no more periods and no more PMS. Then it goes on to the intellectual and emotional reasons to look forward to the Great Pause.

Dr. Cynthia Stuenkel, an endocrinologist at the University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine, suggests that menopausal women “ask themselves if they’re headed in the direction they want to go, both professionally and personally, and whether the way they’re spending their time is meaningful to them.”

There’s that heading in the right direction again!

What about you? 

Have you changed directions? Or are you thinking of it?

Directions

The misguided witch above graced the lawn of my neighbor, Linda Ostrand, last Halloween.

7 responses »

  1. It is so nice to see a positive spin on what we often see as dread. I love having no periods or pms!! And I took a new career path at the age of 55, several years ago, and have not looked back! I followed my passion and am now a certified health coach! Cheers to all that is good about the pause! Thanks for this post, Barbara!

  2. I definitely don’t miss periods and pms! So glad that is all over with. The main thing that has happened to me as I have gotten older (and wiser), is I no longer feel like I have to go and do things I don’t enjoy just because everyone else is going or doing it. Life is too short to do things that don’t really make you happy.

  3. I have more confidence than when I was younger is one of the advantages I find in aging. Benefit of menopause? Not sure. Maybe my surge in confidence is due to less estrogen?

Comment on this post

