The Not Worrying Flowers

Standard

20160731_115904

 And can any of you by worrying add a single hour to your span of life? If then you are not able to do so small a thing as that, why do you worry about the rest?  Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not clothed like one of these.

The beloved passage from Luke. Those words that encourage us NOT to worry.

My friend Jane, like me, does children’s sermons at church. The key to a good children’s sermon is to say something important the kids can understand on their kid level and the grownups can ponder on a grown up level.

Jane pointed to the flowers on the table behind her. “Look at them? Do they look worried?”

First I smiled. Nope. Those flowers look as happy as can be.

My next thought: But those flowers SHOULD be worried! They’re going to be dead in a few days.

(For someone who aspires to the upbeat, those dark thoughts can splash in.)

And then I got it.The flowers are going to die, and they still AREN’T worrying.

I spent my later fifties oh so shocked and sad that my years were thinning. I get the impression I worried about dying more than others do.

But in 2015, my mother’s death and the enormous resolve and courage she showed, helped me worry less about my own demise. Mom took on everything as an adventure, even dying. Her attitude amazed us all.

Those bold, beautiful church flowers (pictures above and below) surely drooped and died a few days later. Weren’t they smart not to worry? They didn’t waste their earthly hours feeling sad.

Flowers

What about you?

Do you think about dying a lot now that you are older? Are you scared? Resolved? Hopeful?

Do tell!

12 responses »

  1. Encouraging post! I worry way too much but dying isn’t one of my chief worries. I think I am more worried about losing my faculties and mobility as I age. But you and Luke are/were right – my worrying won’t add one day to my life (and probably make my life less enjoyable!).

  2. I don’t know that I worry about dying really, but I do think about it–what will bring about my death, wonder how long I have left, who will go first, etc. I do worry about keeping healthy until my death and how I can best do that. I am really trying to live in the moment. Even if you worry about things they still may happen or may not. We really have little control if we would only admit it. But with death, like the flowers, it IS going to happen and it just doesn’t do any good or make it not happen by worrying about it. We all need to try to live in this moment only. As Eckhart Tolle
    says, “that is all we have.”

  3. The discussion about death and dying is appropriate and inevitable. It is good to worry a bit about it but accepting it I think the real issue. Surprisingly many people enter their 50’s and 60’s without a will or expressed their burial/funeral plans with their loved ones.

  4. The photos along with that verse of scripture bring peace to my spirit tonight. Not too worried about death at the moment, but after an event a few months back, I think a bit more about it. At fifty, I hope I have a few more years yet to go.

Comment on this post

