The Woman in the Woods

Standard

20161109_150659

While walking in the woods on Bald Head Island, I nearly stepped on this woman.

See her?

Even though her mouth is just a small speck of leaf, she has an upbeat expression, a confidence.

She looks happy in her own skin and her dress made of bark.

I just auditioned for Arsenic and Old Lace. I was dying to play one of the crazy aunts.

No go. No part for me.

But my Woman in the Woods whispered, “Plug on.Confidence! You’ve got other roles to play.”

Grandma. Writer. Blogger. Traveler. Friend. Teacher. Decorator. Wife. Cookie Cake Baker.

(Note I put Grandma first. Maze is coming next week, and I’m going to bake him a giant cookie cake. I just have to figure out how to get Yoda or Batman in frosting on the top.)

What about you? What would my Woman in the Woods whisper to you right now?

woman

4 responses »

  1. The mother of my step-children died very unexpectedly this week…I’m trying to find my place in all this…my husband basically raised the kids by himself because the Mother was absent by choice most all of the time…so tomorrow I will be in the background…just so they know I love them and will be there if they need me…that is how I see myself as the Women in the Woods….

  2. Woman in the Woods. I thought about this, actually strained to see her, but doesn’t matter because she’s there.

    Sorry to hear that you didn’t get that part in the play, Barbara! You were so good in the last part you played in your premiere theatrical performance!

    Who knows why things don’t always go the way we hope they will. I envisioned so many different roles for myself as an adult professional, but they didn’t go the way I had anticipated or the way in which I had hoped. But, maybe the Woman in the Woods is smarter than me.

    Perhaps they did go the way they were supposed to. Yes, I can hear her whisper, “Everything is as it should be.”

    Enjoy the adventure to come!

Comment on this post

