Uncommon Goods: Holiday Ideas and a Giveaway

Standard

bloody-mary

When the folks at Uncommon Goods approached me about a post, I checked out the company’s merchandise and their mission and said, “Sure!”  More about the company’s mission soon, but first, some cool and creative items you might want to add to your holiday shopping list. Here’s a special selection of gifts they’ve put together in honor of the season.

Above, Bloody Mary Diagram glasses. I don’t even drink Bloody Marys, but I love these glasses. I like the Mimosa Diagram Glasses  and  the Hot Toddy Diagram Glasses, too. Fun!

mimosa

Now that my granddaughter Emerson Grace is here, I’m thinking booties. Since her grandpop Cliff loves to go to funky taco bars when we visit the kids in Dallas, maybe Emmie needs a pair of Taco Booties

taco-booties

Uncommon Goods supports artisans across the world.Meet Gulnara Kydyrmyshova, who designed the taco booties.artist_23480

Each artisan is featured on the web page next to his or her creation. Read more about Gulnara: “When Kyrgyzstan became an independent country in 1991, most of the nation’s talented artists fled to larger and more creative cities. But maker Gulnara Kydyrmyshova stayed behind and established a small retail store with the vision to revive Kyrgyz craftsmanship and help relieve her nation of poverty through the trade of handmade felted works. She started by conducting free sewing classes to unemployed women in her community. For over a decade, she has supported local artisans by selling felted handicrafts in her store.”

On the company’s blog, you can learn more about their connection with  Silk Road Bazaar, Gularna, and the women she works with. An uplifting and fascinating story.

0041

Back to more gift ideas. Grandson Maze would love this  Choo Choo Train Dining Set.

train

dining-set

Holiday shopping for men can be tricky. What about guitar socks?

guitar-socks

Or a Gin making Kit? Now that could keep a man busy this winter.

gin-kit

Here are some gifts that appeal especially to women. Consider Seed Money for a gardening friend.

seed-money

I’m a fan of cuff bracelets. They’re not only stylish but easy to pop on and off. Birth Month Flower Cuffmake a very personal gift for a lady  on your list.

flower-cuff

I bet my daughter Laura wished babies really did come from storks when she was in labor this October. A Stork Ornament is a great gift for any new mom or grandmom.

stork-ornament

Take a look at the presents for moms that are highlighted here. Lots and lots to choose from.

I’ve never heard of Tea Drops. Talk about a festive treat on a winter day.

tea

In winter and summer, Solar Light Garden Stake Flower Globes are perfect for lighting up a garden, yard, or path.

stakes

Here’s the  company’s official mission statement: “At UncommonGoods, we’re working to change the way business is done by making sustainability a part of every decision we make. We’re steadily working to make UncommonGoods more environmentally friendly, socially responsible, and an ever-more rewarding place to work.” Read more of their story here.

uncommongoods

Giveaway! In celebration of Uncommon Goods, I’m offering a giveaway this holiday season. I picked their chocolate soaps. How fun to take a shower or bath with chocolate (and a whole lot less caloric). For a chance to win, please enter a comment by December 15.

wine-soaps I so appreciate this company’s interest in local artisans.I received compensation for writing the post but am paying for the giveaway.

23 responses »

  1. As far as I am concerned, chocolate is an essential food group and to lather up with it as well – true luxury and the ultimate indulgence!

  2. What fun items. Been an Uncommon Goods fan for years. Lots of novel things — and I do like their support of independent artisans. The tacos booties are too cute!

  3. This is a fun site for unusual items! I especially liked the garden solar globes and the birth flower cuff bracelets. Anything would be fun! thanks for introducing us to this artisans website Barbara. Let the shopping continue….

  4. I’d never heard of tea drops before, thanks for the eclectic look at a new website Barbara!
    I love their library card mug in yellow. . .

  5. Thanks for introducing me to this business – I really love to support companies who go the extra mile to support others as well as the environment too.
    Chocolate soaps sound like a wonderful indulgence!

  6. I am so wondering how your daughter and her family decided on the name of “Emerson” for your new grand-daughter. Is there a story behind this that you might want to share?

    • Hi Phyllis, Laura has a child named Emerson in the school where she works, but I also think she found it on some name lists. I love it. Thought of Ralph Waldo immediately and his wise words. I quoted him in my high school graduation speech. “To live the greatest number of good hours is wisdom.”

      • I knew there must have been a story behind this name, and what a warm one 🙂 ! Congratulations on your new grand-daughter!

  7. Oh, and I love this support of small companies and businesses, especially during the holidays! But, I think my favorite scent for soap is “almond”, and when it comes to chocolate, well….. I would love the rarely indulged in for me organic milk chocolate bar or Ghiradelli peppermint bark to actually be something to be eaten now during the holidays!! Now, if they made a white chocolate/peppermint bark soap, hmmmmmm!!!!!

  8. Amazing ideas! I want everything :D. Well is the way I am … I love X-mass, I love snow, and I love the little presents the are making our life more beautiful. Thank You!

  9. I love Uncommon Goods it is a great place to look for those hard to buy for people. I love their selection of mismatched earrings.

Comment on this post

