The Ladies Room Door Art Series: Cabo San Lucas!

Standard

airport

In February, Cliff and I spent a week in Cabo, Mexico. We stayed in the more artsy town of San Jose del Cabo. We ventured by bus twice to nearby Cabo San Lucas, which my daughter Laura defines as “The Spring Break Place.”

We arrived at the Aeropuerto Internacional de Los Cabos, where I quickly snapped the ladies room door sign above. I love the colors and tiles and quirkiness of Mexican decor.

The Cabo Azul Resort is wonderful. Right on the water. The world’s friendliest waitstaff. Gorgeous pools. Excellent food. Just AVOID the fabulous free breakfast with the time share talk from eternity afterwards…

I admired the stone ladies room signs throughout the resort.

stone

And the sinks.

sink

We caught a Duke Basketball game at the Baha Brewing Company.

banos

baja-brewing-company

I admired the snazzy mule tiles in the stalls

tile

And on the wall near the sinks.

tile-on-the-wall

Here are the bathroom signs at the Tropicana Inn, where we enjoyed dinner one evening.

doors

Love these signs at La Pesca. Quite dramatic!

ladies
gentsI like the plain painted doors inside the ladies room at La Pesca too.

doors

And the tiles.tiles

The whole place was funky and fun and the strawberry margarita hit the spot.
strawberry

Laura told us not to miss a a restaurant on the beach in Cabo san Lucas called “The Office.” Here’s a sign that leads  to the potties.

banos

And here are the bathroom doors.
women

 

men

These are the most artistic flushing instructions I’ve ever seen.

flush

Look a the handle to a stall!
salamander

And check out the tiles on the wall inside the stall.
tiles

Another restaurant, La Galeria.

mujeres

Never seen such fabulous pink walls.

mural

But I wasn’t so sure about the cleaning supplies in the corner.

broom

And I wonder if the dolls on the wall of the restaurant are living a good life, as far as doll lives go.

dolls

This was a first! On the way to the ladies room at Mi Casa, one of the waiters offered to take my picture next to these distinguished gentlemen.

me

The metal sign above the door.

ladies

Here’s the sign over the men’s room. I wonder what the exact message is here.

men

The metal handle on the stall in the ladies room.door-handle

The stall door.stall-door

Captain Tony’s on the harbor in Cabo san Lucas. I dont know if Ernest Hemingway traveled to Cabo, but it seemed like a bar he might have appreciated.

ladies

 

men

The famous Cabo Wabo in Cabo San Lucas. Talk about colorful!

banos

I tried to write FRIEND FOR THE RIDE with my ballpoint pen, but alas, it didn’t show up. Wish I’d had a marker with me.

entrance

mirror

I sure hope Sam had a good birthday!

sam

latch

That wraps up my Cabo edition of the Ladies Room Door Art Series.  The creative bathroom doors  I found reflect the whimsy and artistry of this spirited land.

 

 

 

Let’s not build walls…

7 responses »

  1. Wow! A feast for the eyes. Funny about the flushing. Some folks have the reverse situation here in the US – retraining people to actually flush the paper because our sewer systems are built to handle it. Just another cultural adjustment!

  2. Wow you hit the jackpot on this excursion! Loved all the color and artistry we found on our short trip to Mexico but it didn’t compare to what you saw. Fun post, as always!

Comment on this post

