Downsizing: Rusty Rhino

Standard

20161124_151602

The downsizing continues!

Cliff, an electrical engineer, saved a GIANT box filled with electronic parts and odds and ends from his childhood. He dragged the box to North Carolina when his mom sold her house twenty-five years ago. It’s sat in our storage room even since. So, with great sadness, he realized he probably shouldn’t drag the box to our new house. It was time to say goodbye.

Enter into the story our artist friend, Ann Hobgood, owner of Recycled Folks Art Studio and Gallery. Ann writes:

I’ve been an artist of some kind all my life, but only when I retired in 2007 was I was free to make whatever kind of art I wanted. I created and entered a self-portrait in a show in Chapel Hill – I used paper, coasters, a clock face, maps, springs, toy railroad tracks, Scrabble letters, keys, and other junk from around my house.

People loved it, and I started making more “recycled folks” and began to collect wood and metal for making more art. It became an obsession!

In the last 10 years I have done quite a few juried shows, studio tours, and one-person gallery shows. I now have a brightly painted separate studio – filled to the brim with good stuff – next to my house in Hillsborough, NC.

One of the things I love to do is use items that were important to a person to create unique sculptures for them. I was thrilled when I was given Cliff Younger’s boyhood collection of old electronic parts.

And when I found out he liked rhinos, that’s what I made for him! Here is my creation – Rusty Rhino.

rhino 3

Rusty’s legs are wrapped with telephone receiver coiled wire; his feet are knobs from radios; his tail is electronic wire; his front body is covered with small electronic parts; and his big horn is an electronic clip. The only non-electronic things I used were small bits of rusty metal and seed beads to give his face texture.

rhino 2 (1)

Barbara again:  We just love Rusty, and he is adjusting to life with us. Now it’s time to clean out our jam- packed shed. Ann has agreed to take Cliff’s dad’s golf clubs. Turns out they make good heads for Recycled Folks!

Read more about Ann Hobgood on her website.

Find Ann’s contact information here.

8 responses »

  1. Love it. Upcycling is all the rage and a good one at that! My husband picks up metal scraps and Beaver chewed sticks and some other woods including root balls of plants and makes sculptures.

  2. Thanks for this post, Barbara! The golf clubs will become heads for either snakes, turtles, or flamingos! I love that the “eyes” are already on them (I’ll make matching or similar eyes for the other sides). I’ll take photos when I create them.

Comment on this post

