Menopause

A Secret Wish: Morphing into Gidget!

dee.slide.2

 

A post by poet Barbara Crooker:

Barbara writes:

This poem came from a prompt, which was to imagine that you were suddenly an expert in anything you wanted, that this talent magically was yours. 

I’d always loved those Gidget movies (and books), and so this was (and still is) my desire. Even when younger, I wasn’t very athletic, so this has been my secret wish for years and years. Think “transformation into Cameron Diaz!”  Of course, I’m referencing Keats’s epitaph at the end.

 

SURFER GIRL

I’m walking on the beach this brisk November morning,

the bleached sea grass bending in the wind, when there,

up ahead, in the pewter waves, I see a surfer in his wet suit,

sleek as a seal, cutting in and out of the curl, shining in the light.

I’m on the far side of sixty, athletic as a sofa, but this is where

the longing starts, the yearning for another life, the one

where I’m lithe and long-limbed, tanned California gold,

short tousled hair full of sunshine.  The life where I shoulder my board,

stride into the waves, dive under the breakers, and rise; my head shaking

off water like a golden retriever.  I am waiting for that perfect wave to come,

so I can crouch up and catch it, my arms out like wings, slicing back

and forth in the froth, wind at my back, sea’s slick metal polished

before me.  Nothing more important now than this balance between

water and air, the rhythm of in and out, staying ahead of the break,

choosing my line like I choose these words, writing my name

on water, writing my name on air.

~Barbara Crooker (More, C&R Press, 2010)

flowers

 

Barbara Crooker’s poems  have appeared in magazines such as The Green Mountains ReviewPoet Lore, The Hollins CriticThe Christian Science MonitorNimrod and anthologies such as The Bedford Introduction to Literature.  Her awards include the Thomas Merton Poetry of the Sacred Award, three Pennsylvania Council on the Arts Creative Writing Fellowships, fifteen residencies at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, a residency at the Moulin à Nef, Auvillar, France; and a residency at The Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig, Ireland.

Her books are Radiance, which won the 2005 Word Press First Book competition and was a finalist for the 2006 Paterson Poetry Prize; Line Dance (Word Press 2008), which won the 2009 Paterson Award for Literary Excellence; More (C&R Press 2010), and Gold (Cascade Books, 2013). Her poetry has been read on the BBC, the ABC (Australian Broadcasting Company), and by Garrison Keillor on The Writer’s Almanac, and she’s read in the Poetry at Noon series at the Library of Congress.

“Surfer Girl” is from Barbara’s collection, More. Here’s the Amazon link.

 

512jFfVGdhL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Check out Barbara’s website here.

And here are links to two more posts featuring Barbara’s poems Peeps and Nearing Menopause, I run into Elvis at Shoprite.

Gidget! The character first came to life in a novel by Frederick Kohner. Gidget is based on the author’s daughter.

250px-GidgetBook

The Gidget you see above is Sandra Dee, standing with Cliff Robertson and James Darren in the 1959 film.

And of course, Sally Field played the part with gusto in the 1960s television show.

220px-Gidgettvguide

13 thoughts on “A Secret Wish: Morphing into Gidget!”

  1. Love the poem and its imagery! So vivid! Your phrase “athletic as a sofa” describes me too, so I understand your longing.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the introduction to Barbara Crooker’s beautiful poetry! I’m looking forward to reading the poems in “More”!

    Like

    1. Oh, okay, I don’t see any more posts yet on this, so I feel I must speak up!

      “Gidget” was a pioneer!

      Of course, my first impression was, morphing into “Gidget,” “ummmm….yeah, right (not first on my “bucket list”) — But, lest we forget, she grasped, and then clung to a surfboard and her dreams — and this was when only men were really able to do that, in that way.

      Like

  3. Lovely poem! I would so love to surf. I tried once when young and way too hard. But it is now one of my favorite things to watch. Thanks for this post!

    Like

  4. Yet another great poem from Barbara Crooker. I could just feel the rise and fall of water, of yearning… Thank you.

    Like

Comment on this post